From July to September we worked with 7 young people aged 16 – 25 to research, plan, record and edit Mental Health Untangled, a podcast about mental health, wellbeing and youth social action.

We explored how to get a diagnosis and access services, the language and labels we use when talking about mental health, self care and how to support others and investigated the policies and campaigns that are changing services for young people.

IMG_1667.JPG

The group interviewed each other, as well as youth workers and representatives from the following organisations:

Youth Access - http://www.youthaccess.org.uk/

Youth Access is an advice and counselling organisation. We spoke to them about their Make Our Rights Reality Campaign - http://www.youthaccess.org.uk/morr/morr-home

Young Minds - https://youngminds.org.uk/

Young Minds is a charity for children and young people’s mental health.

Student Minds - http://www.studentminds.org.uk/

Student Minds is a UK based student mental health charity.

Papyrus - https://papyrus-uk.org/

Papyrus is a national charity dedicated to the prevention of young suicide.

Nightline - http://nightline.org.uk/

Nightline is a confidential listening service for students, run by student volunteers.

NHS Youth Forum - https://www.england.nhs.uk/participation/get-involved/how/forums/nhs-youth-forum/

NHS England have a youth forum made up of 25 young people from around the country who are passionate about improving health services for young people.

Mentally Chill - https://www.arts-su.com/groups/mentally-chill-society

Mentally Chill is a safe space for UAL students dealing with mental health issues.

Man Talk - http://www.adayinthelifedad.com/man-talk/

Man Talk is a podcast that aims to tackle men’s mental health and normalise the conversation.

Hackney Quest - http://www.hackneyquest.org.uk/

Hackney Quest has been working to support young people and families in Hackney since 1988. They recently produced a report titled Hackney Wick Through Young Eyes, outlining young residents thoughts about living in the area.

Dedicated Listeners - https://www.goldsmithssu.org/organisation/7143/

A listening service for students at Goldsmiths University.

The podcast is currently being edited and will be online soon.